What it was like walking in a fashion show

Model Call

I auditioned to be model in September, and the environment was very intimidating. There were so many girls there, and I overhear conversations of professional models talking about how they do this all the time. I thought there was no way I could ever be chosen out of all these girls. Walking down the runway with no one else in the room, except the judges, was beyond frightening. It definitely was a little awkward. If you ever go to a model call, DON’T MAKE EYE CONTACT WITH THE JUDGES. That was my biggest mistake. The eye contact was uncomfortable and both the judges and I felt it. They giggled a touch and I tried to keep a straight face (unsuccessfully). The process was relatively quick however, which was a relief. We were told that we would receive an email if we were chosen to model a look.

The Show

I heard the news that I had been chosen about two weeks before the show. The stylist contacted me and we did a fitting-everything fit perfectly. The stylist was so excited, and I began to get nervous. The stylist, the other two models, and myself all met up well before the show to do nails. We, then, all arrived at the show early because the organization had warned us that there would not be much time between walk-through and the show. We walked through the show a couple times and then all went to get ready. There is so much hustle and bustle going on backstage before a show, and many different smells of hairspray and various makeup. The show was well put together, and I felt confident in what I was doing. It’s just walking after all…right? There’s a lot more to think about than putting one foot in front of the other and trying not to trip. There’s where to look and what expression to have and making sure you hit the marks. It’s a lot to think about before you actually walk, but once you starting walking, your mind runs blank. I had no thoughts going through my head as I walked across the stage, heart racing. It’s a great feeling after doing final walk, knowing you’re done, and there’s nothing left to worry about.

Conclusion

Overall, it was a great experience, and I’m really grateful that I got to experience walking, and I will definitely go to the next model call. I met some great people, and got to experience something amazing. I learned a lot, and will take this information into account for my next show!

Leave a Reply

