Favorite Makeup Products

One of my New Years goals was to take better care of myself and do more things that make me happy. I figured I could work toward these two goals by putting on makeup most days. It might seem like putting on makeup might be an exterior means to an internal goal, and won’t actually do anything for my interior self. However, I have noticed that I feel more productive and all around better about myself. Yes beauty comes from the inside, but I can work on being beautiful on the inside by making myself beautiful on the outside.

So today I am sharing with you my favorite makeup products-ones I use for my daily makeup looks.

Eyeshadows

I adore the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette. It’s my go-to for eyeshadow, all the shades are in neutral tones so it goes with everything in my closet. It’s absolutely my favorite palette, and totally worth the investment. My favorite shades are Chopper and Verve for the lid, and then I use YDKSuspect, and Snakebite for shading. I also love the Too Faced Boudoir Eyes Palette. It’s another neutral palette, but I tend to use it for special events. My favorite shades are Satin sheets and Sugar Walls.

Eyliner

This is the portion of the post where you begin to see my obsession with NYX coming through. I adore NYX. They have professional quality makeup with drugstore prices. Their liquid black eyeliner is high quality and glides on like a dream. I do eyeliner wings everyday, so it was relieving to find such a smooth eyeliner.

img_2485

Mascara

NYX Badunkadunk is my favorite mascara ever. I’ve used it for well over a year. There was a shortage when I went to my local NYX store they were out so I’m still using my old tube, absolutely devastating. Badunkadunk gives your lashes a great boost without looking fake, and doesn’t clump them together. It creates a great look.

img_2475

Eye Primer

When I was in eighth grade and first started doing my makeup, I didn’t really care about how it looked or how it progressed over time. Now, I’ve come to realize the importance of primer. Not only does it help to keep your eyeshadow on longer, it helps to make the shades more vibrant. It’s not essential, but I don’t do my makeup unless I put on primer first. It just doesn’t feel right anymore. (Again it’s NYX because I’m obsessed)img_2477

Concealer

Personally, I prefer not to wear concealer, but sometimes, you just need to cover up those 2AM under-eye circles or those I haven’t eaten a vegetable in two weeks blemishes. I love Covergirl’s Ready Set Gorgeous concealer. It’s not too heavy, but it has good coverage.

img_2481

Highlighter

I love sparkle. I love when my face is as sparkly as I feel. I reserve highlighter for the happiest of days or the best of events. It adds a little something extra to my look and I feel a little more radiant when I wear a little bit of sparkle. My favorite highlighter is Revlon Vivid Baked Highlighter in Golden Lights.

Lipstick

I love lipstick. I love lipstick so much. I feel a million times better if I have some color on my lips. My three favorite shades are two reds and a neutral burgundy. My favorite style is the NYX Extra Creamy Lipstick in Electra(513). It’s my go to red shade and I love wearing red lipstick. Unfortunately, I’ve bought all the shades that fit with my skin tone from the store in this style so I’ve switched to the NYX Simply Red Creamy Lipstick Crayon. This is a bit pinker in color and it’s a great everyday shade. The shade below is Maraschino(Sr04). During winter, I really love the Burt’s Bees Lip Crayon in Redwood Forest (411). It’s great for fall and winter because it is hydrating so it fends off chapped lips and is the perfect color for the colder seasons.

 

xoxo

Madi

One thought on “Favorite Makeup Products

Leave a Reply

